Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Every now and then it just cuts out Where to start
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
djway
1974 1.8 all stock.
Since I purchased the car a few months ago, every now and then it feels like it looses partial power and then will come back to life.
A few times I have applied throttle and nothing, like the car was dead. I would then pop the throttle a few times and it jumped back to life.
Not positive but it seems like this has occurred after hitting some rough patches in the road but it does not happen often.
I am guessing an electrical connection somewhere or a throttle positioning sensor.
I am new to FI and reading a lot but if I could be pointed in the most likely direction that would be appreciated.
Thanks
DJ
era vulgaris
It's probably not the issue you have, but it might be something to check, because my old 1.7 used to do the exact same thing. It felt like the car was at half power at times, and then suddenly it would come back to life. This happened often after hard turns or bumps.

It had me puzzled for months until one day when I went to disconnect the negative terminal on the battery, the connector broke off of the ground cable. Apparently a majority of the ground cable had been sheared at some point in the car's history, leaving only a few strands of the multicore cable still attached to the connector. The sheared strands were close enough to make contact sometimes, until bumps rattled them apart.

After I replaced the connector and made sure it was securely clamped on the cable, the problem went away completely. Might be something to check out on your car, that all of your major electrical wires are in good shape and making solid contact.
djway
QUOTE(era vulgaris @ Jan 21 2016, 01:50 PM) *