Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Boge Strut Insert Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jack20
Hello,
I'm in the process of refreshing the front end of my '74. I was able to find a pair of NOS Boge inserts. The instructions in the box specify the use of 50cc of motor oil to poured into the strut. My research revealed that this is intended to dissipate heat. There was no oil in the strut when I removed the old Boge inserts. Is adding oil still recommended?

The instructions also specifiy the use of "centering bushings" which I don't have and weren't used by the PO. It would seem that the gland nut would serve to adequately center the insert but I only want to do this one time. Can anyone suggest what to use for a centering bushing or if it's actually necessary? I was thinking of using a strip of 3/4" dense foam insulating tape around the circumference of the insert but I'm new to this and would welcome suggestions to keep me out of trouble.

Thank you,

Jack
porschetub
QUOTE(jack20 @ Jan 24 2016, 06:47 AM) *

Hello,
I'm in the process of refreshing the front end of my '74. I was able to find a pair of NOS Boge inserts. The instructions in the box specify the use of 50cc of motor oil to poured into the strut. My research revealed that this is intended to dissipate heat. There was no oil in the strut when I removed the old Boge inserts. Is adding oil still recommended?

The instructions also specifiy the use of "centering bushings" which I don't have and weren't used by the PO. It would seem that the gland nut would serve to adequately center the insert but I only want to do this one time. Can anyone suggest what to use for a centering bushing or if it's actually necessary? I was thinking of using a strip of 3/4" dense foam insulating tape around the circumference of the insert but I'm new to this and would welcome suggestions to keep me out of trouble.

Thank you,

Jack