Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welding wounds and helmets
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
JoeDees
I did a bunch of welding on the 914 Saturday and had no inkling of the impending disaster, no seeing spots etc. I've used my Harbor Freight helmet for a lot of welding before and don't know if the battery was weak, the adjustment changed or what, but I suffered some flash injury to my eyes. For anybody who has never had this, it sucks: red eyes, burning, extreme light sensitivity, blurriness, excessive watering, and an overall unpleasantness. I should be fine in a few days, but in the meantime, do yourself a favor and buy a good helmet.

Anybody have suggestions for a new auto-darkening helmet? And any suggestions on keeping them working perfectly?
stugray
I was a welder for > 15 years and have personally never trusted the auto-darkening helmets enough to actually buy one.
For TIG it has become the defacto standard, but for MIG & Stick, startup is not as critical. (I used to stick weld bar joist to beams without even looking, I could weld by feel alone)

But if I did buy a auto hood, HF would be the last place I would trust.

FWIW - for flash burns, put potato slices on your eyes.
It isn't as good as the drops they give you in the ER, but definitely better than suffering.
AndyB
I got mine from Miller. My first one was from Lowes never had a problem with it. Make sure your settings are correct. I had my hands on a HF helmet kept walking around with it until my wife said no get a better one. Just my .02

Andy
madmax914
QUOTE(stugray @ Jan 25 2016, 11:44 AM) *

I was a welder for > 15 years and have personally never trusted the auto-darkening helmets enough to actually buy one.
For TIG it has become the defacto standard, but for MIG & Stick, startup is not as critical. (I used to stick weld bar joist to beams without even looking, I could weld by feel alone)

But if I did buy a auto hood, HF would be the last place I would trust.