Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: im new to the 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
cronin069
i just bought a 72 914, but i cant get it started. tried today and the green wire from coil to distibutor started smoking and i stopped. also found 3 wires inside of cabin not connected to anything. any help would be a great help
RickS
Hopefully there are some teenheads near you with a multimeter and some time to help a brotha out.
stevegm
Welcome to the madness. Electrical is not my strong suit. But I am sure a couple experts will chime in and give you a hand.
cronin069
just took my dog out and walked by the car and found a fuel leak. what a great day
hissyfit.gif
Larmo63
welcome.png

Almost all of us have had these issues. Half of the fun is figuring it out while trying to not look like a total mechanical idiot.

Don't worry, it goes with the territory.
wndsnd
welcome.png

The fuel system is where you want to start on any old car.

With the 914, you will want to clean the tank, replace the soft fuel lines with product rated for methynol, and replace the lines through the tunnel with Stainless lines from Tangerine Racing.

Once you have clean fuel and safe lines that will not leak and catch fire, you can start on other fun projects!

Welcome!
rick 918-S
welcome.png Before you try starting the car again you need to examine the chassis for rust. Remove the outer rockers and check around the jack posts and ahead of the battery stand on the chassis rail. The absolutely next place to start repairs if you have a usable ( fixable) chassis is the fuel leak. You already have an electrical issue. Many of these cars have been lost to fire from the same combination.

Show up whatcha got. thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
rmital
where in NJ are you?? There's a few of us willing to help; make house calls... flag.gif
TheCabinetmaker
Disconnected wires in cabin is a little vague. A better description or pics would help. We're good, but not psychics.