Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Reassemble order?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jcd914
So I am getting ready to start putting my 914 back together after a repaint. smile.gif biggrin.gif smile.gif biggrin.gif

One of several problems I have is that I did not take it apart, I bought it after paint was done and still disassembled.

It was complete torn down except for pulling suspension, brakes and steering.

I m going to start on the interior and I need to know if the Fresh air box, defroster vents, wiper need to go in before or after the dash frame, dash pad and trim?

I want to avoid taking things apart to fit in something I should have done earlier.

The windshield is out still and will go in last probably.

Thoughts anyone?

I've been working on Porsche's for 38 years,20 years professionally and then casually but never done a complete reassembly.

Thanks
Jim

And because every thread should have pictures:

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

r_towle
First, under cowl heater parts, then complete dashboard.
Everything else is pretty logical but you want as much room as possible to do those two.

Under cowl cannot be done right with tank in place.
Dash cannot be done right with windshield in place.

Rich
Cairo94507
Wow, the paint looks terrific. Have fun putting it together and seeing it return to life.
jcd914
QUOTE(r_towle @ Mar 5 2016, 01:35 PM) *

Everything else is pretty logical but you want as much room as possible to do those two.

Rich

Thanks Rich, this was what I was hoping to learn.
With the vents coming from the cowl to the dash area, which needed to be done first?
When I got the car some of the heater/fresh air stuff was in place, along with the wipers but things were loose and the wiring was not run so I pulled all back out.

So everything in the cowl area is out, including the tank.
And the whole dash frame, windshield and brand new 914rubber dash are in my shed still.

Jim

jcd914