Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Kraaaappppp!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Engman
My son - soon to be graduating from IU in Bloomington, IN - had a fire last nite - room is totaled!

He was renting a house with 5 others off campus - no renters insurance headbang.gif

Question is - does any of my homeowners insurance cover his property? It looks like it might - but I am no expert on reading/interpeting these policys. Yes - his primary residence remains here at home...........

Dammm - he is really down..........

M
jwalters
Man that is terrible. I truley feel bad for your son, terrible, terrible thing to have happen.

I believe there is federal statute that renders any renters of domiciles to have thier own renters insurance for personal property--this was done many years ago to reduce the costs of h/o ins. It is also a liability thing tho--this statute is rendered useless if the owner of the domicile is at fault from not properly maintaining the property--but again, I was privy to this a few years back, the statute may have been amended by now.

I know here in South Florida, you are required to have your own personal property ins when renting--

I hope it works all out for the better.
GaroldShaffer
Mark, that sucks. The main thing your son is ok. I can't comment on the insurance issue. Hope eveything works out. - Good Luck

Garold
Mark Henry
Don't know how it works down there but the house is covered by the owners insurance, the contents are not.

As long as your lad is all right that's the important part...It may be a pisser, but the rest is just stuff.
GWN7
Sorry to hear about your loss. Good thing everyone is ok.

Read your policy, depending on your carrier, sometimes personal property is covered up to 20% of the stated value of the policy when it's away from your principal residence.

Call your agent, file a claim. All they can do is say no.
CptTripps
Mark,