Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2.0L Motor & Transaxle Weight
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
TM_Corey
Probably a complete newbie question, but I plan to remove my motor and transaxle at a buddies shop with the help of his lift. Once out and resting on a tool box (idea from wheeler dealers) or home made cradle, is it possible to move it in and out of a pickup truck bed with 2/3 people or not?

My ideal is to take it back to my place and work on replacing vaccum lines and perishables plus giving it an electric ignition and tune up while the body is at the body shop for repair.

Thanks for the advice.
Mueller
300lb. motor, 75lb. transmission...I wouldn't bet real money on those numbers but I'd bet a lunch!

TheCabinetmaker
You'd win a lunch, I think Mike.

3 people. One on each end of the mount bar and one on the trans. Two people with out the trans. That's assuming they are not 90lb weaklings. I'm 5'6 and 170, and old, and move them with those amount of people of the same size as me.
jd74914
You should be able to put it in a pickup bed with 2-3 people. smile.gif

My brother and I did it together without a problem; he grabbed the engine crossbar and I grabbed the back of the tranny. Three people would be better, it just wasn't too bad for us since he's huge (300#, dead lifts over 550#). laugh.gif
TM_Corey
QUOTE(jd74914 @ Apr 7 2016, 05:35 PM) *

You should be able to put it in a pickup bed with 2-3 people. smile.gif

My brother and I did it together without a problem; he grabbed the engine crossbar and I grabbed the back of the tranny. Three people would be better, it just wasn't too bad for us since he's huge (300#, dead lifts over 550#). laugh.gif

Awesome. Thanks guys.

I'll update my original thread as I progress.
mepstein
Fully dressed engine = 250
Trans 75
325 total.
Done it with 2 people. Easier with 3.
ThePaintedMan