Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Lawnmower
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Wew
Hi all,

I am new to the 914 world... in the process of restoring a 1973 914 2.0 all original with fuel injection.

Rust and body work almost complete. front end rebuild complete. Rear on deck.

Engine seems to run well and idles and responds with pep.

But the car kinda sounds like a lawnmower... Is this normal? Could I potentially have some type of exhaust issue based on the description above?

Or is this what a stock heat exchanger and muffler sound like on these cars?

Please advise as I do not know anyone in my area that owns one of these so I have nothing to truly compare too.

Ideally if it is is just a heat exchanger or muffler swap that is required to change the sound, then I am all ears for recommendations as well.

Thanks in advance,

Gary driving.gif
Tom_T
Gary,

There are tons of 914 folks up in the Bay Area near to you for both fun & this sort of advice. They get together for AX & pancake breakfasts & such too.

Hopefully some will jump in on here now.

Rich Bontempi at HPH (High Performance House) in Redwood City has a shop & parts warehouse, & he used to race 2.0s & a 1.8, so he's a close by resource/shop which actually knows 914s for you.

I'm not sure what you mean by "sounds like a lawnmower"..... huh.gif

It should sound like a hopped up Bug or Bus flat 4 - a bit more throaty than the typical stock VW engines of the day, but you can always tell an aircooled flat 4 .... one just went by my street outside as a matter of fact, & I didn't even have to look!

welcome.png

Cheers! beerchug.gif
Tom
///////

EdwardBlume
It is a lawnmower! Different exhausts have different notes. Show us what you have. Congrats on getting the car together!
EdwardBlume
RoadGlue (Randy) is up that way....
RoadGlue
Ha! Lawnmower... love it.

Show us a photo of your exhaust. A sound clip would be good too.