Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT - A different kind of aircooled
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bulldog9
I used to do a fair bit of long distance riding, many IBA rides, 1000 mile weekends, etc. I've had my Yamaha FJR 1300 for 8 years now, it is an almost perfect bike, lightest of the modern sport tourers, and comfortable, but I almost never ride long distance any more, and have been itchy for a newer naked bike as a regular rider for a few years. I have several old Yamaha's but they are garage queens now with old chrome, etc. I'd like a (used) modern naked bike with some character and performance, midsize. Found this today.

http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/mcd/5560113731.html

Also like this, and am very familiar with the Bonneville. Performance lacks a bit, but is a nice bike http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/mcd/5558273669.html

I've got no experience with MG, other than admiring at a distance. Anyone have any experience? I'll probably go take a ride on Saturday, check out the Guzzi Triumph Bikes. Newer BMW's are too much $$
billh1963
Dr. Evil has several MG's...he can probably chime in.

From what I have read the modern MG's are reasonable robust.

I almost bought a Breva 750 a couple of years ago until I found a good deal on my BMW R1100R.

Click to view attachment
injunmort
i have had a few, i loved them. very dependable and comfortable. having said that, they have their quirks like bmw boxers. torque effect from crank the most obvious, but also effects from shaft. not as pronounced as bmw in my opinion but still there. i rode around the quirks and have missed my sp 1000 since i sold it. my friends that ride modern sport toured hated both my mg and bmw, totally different experience.
Bulldog9
QUOTE(billh1963 @ Apr 29 2016, 09:41 AM) *

Dr. Evil has several MG's...he can probably chime in.

From what I have read the modern MG's are reasonable robust.