Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1974 build project
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Puebloswatcop
Well in between cutting out the bad portions of my 73 914, I spend my other spare time (very little of it) working on my 74 914. I have been sitting on both of these cars for over 10 years and have decided that since retirement is closing in I need to start working on them both.

Last week I put in the right engine shelf after purchasing it 3 years ago. It was pretty straight forward, although I have certainly lost my welding skills. I used to work as a ship fitter over 35 years ago and of course welding the sheet metal is nothing like welding 1/4 and 1/2 inch steel....

Click to view attachment

You can see the previous work started several months back putting in the inner wall and firewall, definitely a work in progress and showing how I have lost my welding skills.

Click to view attachment

So I spent a half a day cleaning up the inner long and hell hole and then prepped the engine shelf...

Click to view attachment

The test fit of the engine shelf shows how well it fit right in, no trimming, no bending.

Click to view attachment

Got the shelf welded in, The welds started off rough (to much build up) but began to improve as I went along. Finally was getting the machine dialed in and the timing right.

Click to view attachment

Unfortunately my camera died so I didn't get a picture of the completed install, will try to remember to take one later and add it in. Maybe after the hell hole is completed. smash.gif welder.gif and now its time for a beer break beer3.gif

Okay, I am done with the beer break and it is week 2. I purchased a set of AA fender flares (Thanks Eric) and could not wait to get started. Problem is when I placed the front flare on to look at how it would look....

Click to view attachment