Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: AA reproduction tail light lens review
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Optimusglen
As many of you know, I was the lucky winner of a little thing Automobile Atlanta put on. I received a package today with the lenses, so here's my review and some pictures.

You might wonder why I did US spec lights instead of Euro lights, the answer is simple, because I like the look more and it's more original for my car.

First off, I should say that I am a mechanical designer with a pretty extensive history with plastic injection molded parts. What's nice is I can often easily tell how a part was made, the downside is that I can also see the shortcuts a molder takes. This is probably beneficial for many of you reading the review.

I should also say that I have no experience with the reproduction lenses AA had previously put out and their flaws, I didn't even research it because I didn't want it to jade my views on these new parts.

Alright, now lets get into it. Initial thoughts when I pulled them out of the package were that they look very nice. Plastic is a good thickness and material has a nice clarity to it.

IPB Image

Just like the factory parts, these lenses are three separate plastic pieces glued together, might even be plastic welded. When looking at the joints, there is a bit of an angle. The original parts have a smaller angle here, but only slightly.

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

I would have liked to see the ends of the seal meet somewhere other than a corner, but that's easily rectified before installation.

IPB Image

The threaded studs coming out of the back are over-molded, very little flash.

IPB Image