Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Master Cylinder Mystery
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
frankiec@outrageous.net
I recently had a low brake pedal and when I went to check the reservoir hydraulic fluid was low so I filled it and noticed that there was some oxidized brake fluid in the to of the reservoir. I cleaned it up and noticed a crack in the cap. I ordered a new cap and gasket and thought that was that. But... the new cap and gasket seem to be allowing brake fluid to still back up (slowly) onto the top of the reservoir. Seems like there is some kind of back pressure. I have a 19mm master cylinder. I've looked everywhere and not leaks, peddle board off ete. etc. Any ideas???

Thanks, Tom
JeffBowlsby
You are prolly using standard 17mm brake fluid with the 19mm MC. Try the special blue high performance 19mm fluid and it won't argue with you by trying to escape all the time.
Amphicar770
I was experiencing the same issue. I put one of these in the cap and it solved the problem

http://www.928motorsports.com/parts/master...der_bellows.php
frankiec@outrageous.net
Thanks, I'll give the bellows a try.

QUOTE(Amphicar770 @ May 23 2016, 07:06 PM) *

I was experiencing the same issue. I put one of these in the cap and it solved the problem

r_towle
QUOTE(Jeff Bowlsby @ May 23 2016, 09:47 PM) *

You are prolly using standard 17mm brake fluid with the 19mm MC. Try the special blue high performance 19mm fluid and it won't argue with you by trying to escape all the time.

agree.gif
frankiec@outrageous.net
You've lost me. My knowledge of brake fluid is numerical ie: #3,#4,#5. With #5 you don't have to worry about the paint but I'm using #4 and have never had this problem before. I'll try the bellows before bleeding my brakes.

QUOTE(r_towle @ May 23 2016, 08:19 PM) *

agree.gif

rgalla9146

Really ?, new to me.
A 17mm master requires different brake fluid ?
Do you mean synthetic vs. conventional ?