Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Guy picks up another Project Car
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Realcarfreak
Hello 914World,
I have been a long time fan of this site, but embarrassed when I realized these are my first posts. sad.gif
Finally reached a point where I want to build a 914 for some weekend fun. Well here goes...

Just a brief intro about me:
I have had the incurable Porsche sickness for years. It started when I was little.. Dad fixed up 356's in his spare time and I had the opportunity to watch intently and help sand on some fenders. Since then, I have been playing with cars off and on for the last 40 years. Most of the time, I have too many projects and either not enough time or money to get them completed. Guess that explains my username.

This will be my second 914. My first one was a black 74 that I brought 24 years ago for $700, drove it around as my daily driver and sold it a year later. It was really rusty at the rear fire wall and driving a black two seater with a black interior in Florida without AC in the summer time, with a baby on the way. Well it regrettably had to go. I miss that car..

I'm located in the Tampa Bay area and am looking forward to meeting other Teeners beerchug.gif

New Project:
This new project is a blue 75 that my buddy started. I helped him pick the car up from the previous owner who had started an ambitious restoration and lost steam. My buddy had a plan to build his ultimate 914 by converting it to a big six and styling it like one of the Beachboys racing cars in the magazines back in the day. He was going with 911 turbo flares, C2 style front bumper, shaved front turn signals, etc. sawzall-smiley.gif He did not like the original bumpers either, so they are long gone. Then he moved to Oklahoma and the the car has been sitting dormant in my storage garage for the last 10 years. yellowsleep[1].gif
Time to dust it off and see if I can stick with it long enough to drive it.

The Good: