Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My 1st 914-frustrated with carb adjustment !
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
cashiersjm
I've read countless posts on adjustments, jets, linkages, etc but I'm new to all of this. Got the car in December 2015, and was told the following: 2.3l, scat c-25 cam. It has the stock non-vacuum distributor w/points, dual weber 40's, ?hex-bar linkage, bursch muffler/no headers. Came w/50 idle jets, 190 ac, 125 mains, f7 e-tubes. I live at elevation 3700'. Have tried f-11 e-tubes, went to 45 idles, ran good at 3500 rpm+, constant pop at lower rpm or flat throttle. Have tried many combos of mains, ac, idles, e-tubes but still pops considerably at flat throttle. Don't have ability to check air-fuel ratio (yet). I'm running out of bourbon-please help (with carbs, have line on more bourbon).
johnhora
sorry brother I just ran out of my last bottle of Stagg ;-)
usually popping at idle is an air leak....throttle shafts on the carbs are probably worn....
wiggle them and see if any play....can be other things too
Justinp71
But- does she got the jack?

One of the things I found is many times people think they have a carb problem and it is really something else. Like an ignition problem or air leak. I just found out on another car of mine that I had a dying coil, when I swear it felt like it was running out of gas on the high end.

It does sound like you could have an air leak somewhere.
cashiersjm
At idle, it runs great, after warmup, 900-950 rpm. The popping from the carbs is more at a constant pedal; not under acceleration. Then, on de-accel, it backfires lightly. Stand on the pedal and it will run strong all the way to 5500/6000 rpm; just pops out the carbs at a steady pedal.
stugray
You havent mentioned the synchronization between the carbs.
Do you have a tool to measure it?

It is critical to do it at Idle with the linkage disconnected, then hook it up and measure again at low throttle and higher RPMs.