Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trunk floor repair
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
slotty008
The garage replaced my front trunk floor after taking out the AC. I have no experience with this so can anyone tell me if this is an OK job? After what they did with the inner firewall I don't trust it anymore.Click to view attachment
Gunn1
QUOTE(slotty008 @ Jul 10 2016, 08:31 AM) *

The garage replaced my front trunk floor after taking out the AC. I have no experience with this so can anyone tell me if this is an OK job? After what they did with the inner firewall I don't trust it anymore.Click to view attachment

It might be ok, but the weld looks like it could have been finished off better. Wether it was butt welded or lapped. Although it is the bottom of the trunk, it still in my opinion is structurally important.

I would also be curious what the underside of the repair looks like. How it was finished and whether the weld/work is water tight.
dlee6204
QUOTE(OU812 @ Jul 10 2016, 09:49 AM) *

I would also be curious what the underside of the repair looks like. How it was finished and whether the weld/work is water tight.

agree.gif

Top side looks ok, not great but ok. Underside might tell us a different story.
Lowsquire
I build Hotrods for a living and if i put work out like that I would die of shame. Whoever did that can not weld worth a dime. At the very least a quality seam sealer should be applied over that, and the same underneath. At best, cut out and redone by a competent metalworker.
Gunn1
QUOTE(OU812 @ Jul 10 2016, 08:49 AM) *

QUOTE(slotty008 @ Jul 10 2016, 08:31 AM) *

It might be ok, but the weld looks like it could have been finished off better. Wether it was butt welded or lapped. Although it is the bottom of the trunk, it still in my opinion is structurally important.