Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Vehicle registration and emmissions testing
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
913B
Hi I am new to the state, can any locals give me the low down on getting my 914 registered ?

Tell me if I got this right

1. I get a vehicle safety inspection. Do they check for any abnormal lights on dash. After getting the vehicle back from transporter my idiot brake light is staying on. Should I pull the bulb out during inspection ?

2. It's 1971 do I need a emmissions test ? I don't know if it will pass. It's stock 1.7 FI

3. Go to tax assessor office to give the state more $$

4. Go to the dmv to register ?

Your 2 cents are appreciated

Thank you

Ted in Texas
Rob-O
1. Depends on where you go to have it inspected. I e found that most places just check the lights, turn signals, windshield wiper, horn and make sure it moves and stops under its own power. I would fix the light if possible, it's a fairly easy circuit.

2. I have never had them do an emissions test and am fairly certain it's not required on vintage cars.

3. If you're trying to have the title changed over to a Texas title, the tax assessor a office will be able to do everything. They can do the title change, provide plates and issue a registration sticker (goes on drivers side, lower windshield, in the interior).

Where in Texas are you? Lots of folks here in Dallas. I know there are some in Houston, Austin and San Antonio too.

913B
QUOTE(Rob-O @ Jul 11 2016, 10:08 PM) *

1. Depends on where you go to have it inspected. I e found that most places just check the lights, turn signals, windshield wiper, horn and make sure it moves and stops under its own power. I would fix the light if possible, it's a fairly easy circuit.

2. I have never had them do an emissions test and am fairly certain it's not required on vintage cars.