Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Strong gas smell in 914 post driving in garage
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dlloyd2691
Hello everyone. I'm a new owner of a 1975 914 1.8l (pictures shortly) with 75,000 miles. It was converted professionally to dual carbs from the original bosch fuel injection system. The car drives well but have noticed that when I park it in the garage after driving that a very strong gas smell lingers for days. I don't see any fuel leak. Is there a charcoal filter I've missed that needs replacing or can anyone recommend some items to check.

Pictures soon as I start the restore this winter, I'm a restore newbie so it should be painfully fun.

Cheers,

David
porschetub
welcome.png and the madness that goes when you buy these neat old cars.
Start with the filter neck seal then the gas cap seal,they don't last for ever,cheap enough to buy,then move on to the lines that exit the tank filler to the charcoal canister on the drivers side there and then go on from there,pretty sure your car has the canister,mine didn't.

Good luck you will get there,others on here will have other helpful tips also.
Mikey914
75, so your filter is up front, check the hoses and see if they are moist. The ethanol eats the older style hoses. You will want to check these out through the inspection panel wit the fuel pump mounted to it at the rear of the spare tire. Remove the panel and reach in to feel the hoses. You will know pretty quickly if this is the problem as the gas small will get stronger when you open the panel.
That and the other seals in the gas cap, and vent tank as common.
Welcome to the fun! At least it's a car you can do most of the work yourself on.
billh1963
Don't forget the fuel line in the transmission tunnel!
mlindner
And don't over fill, gas expands into the charcoal canister. Best, Mark
TheCabinetmaker