Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Getting ready to start
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
stanthedog
Going to buy a welder to start the resto on my son's 75 2.0.
Will have plenty of questions along this path. First Q is how do I paint or seal the inside of the hellhole after welding a repair panel in. Welder I'm looking at is the millermatic 211.
76-914
Eastwood sells a spray converter w/ long plastic tube. Just need a 1/4" hole to insert it.
stanthedog
Now, I'm trying to decide on the type of welder. I have little to no welding experience.
Trying to decide between a millermatic 211 mig welder or a miller maxstar 150 tig welder. both are small, lightweight units that run on 115/220v. and are rated very highly. Thoughts.
76-914
2 different platforms. One is MIG and the other is stick or TIG. I'd love to have a TIG set up but in reality there isn't too much I can't weld up with my MIG. If your doing panel repair or Aluminum you will want TIG. One of our members is a welding instructor and will be of more help when he chimes in. beerchug.gif
mb911
211 is big for sheet metal I tend to like the smaller Hobart or Miller 140s much cheaper and easy to work with on sheet metal.. I teach welding so take my info with a grain of salt.
stanthedog
I was originally looking at the miller 141, but thought the 211 would be better because it's 110/240v so I can do thicker metal if need be. I like the autoset being new to welding.
zambezi
How thick of metal will you be doing if "need be". I have a 140 and can do 1/4 inch thick no problem. Being 110 is nice too if I need to go portable to someone elses house. I also have a TIG welder for precision welding or aluminum. For general rust repairs on car, the MIG is the goto welder.
stanthedog