Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Crossed Wires, now it won't turn over
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
gmelton
Hello all. I'm new to your WORLD and have screwed up royally. I was trying to get some interior lights (after market) working from the door switch. I mistakenly added the positive side from the ignition to the switch instead of the negative. When I went to install the door switch back into the car the wires lit up like a Christmas tree. They were on fire, smoke billowed everywhere. I immediately cut the wire from the door switch which was connected to the ignition side of the fuse box, btw connected to the wrong side I know.
Now the car won't turn over. Key in, idiot lights work but won't turn over.

Does anyone have any idea what I need to replace? I'm guessing the ignition switch.
Any advice would help.

Thank you

Greg
73 914 1.7
N_Jay
QUOTE(gmelton @ Sep 16 2016, 06:37 AM) *

Hello all. I'm new to your WORLD and have screwed up royally. I was trying to get some interior lights (after market) working from the door switch. I mistakenly added the positive side from the ignition to the switch instead of the negative. When I went to install the door switch back into the car the wires lit up like a Christmas tree. They were on fire, smoke billowed everywhere. I immediately cut the wire from the door switch which was connected to the ignition side of the fuse box, btw connected to the wrong side I know.
Now the car won't turn over. Key in, idiot lights work but won't turn over.

Does anyone have any idea what I need to replace? I'm guessing the ignition switch.
Any advice would help.

Thank you

Greg
73 914 1.7

If you smoked the wires you could (and probably did) burn the insulation off somewhere. I would check all fuses and you may have killed the switch, but bet you have a short or two.
gmelton