Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Subaru Conversion - Opinions on engine purchase
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
turnaround89
Hi Everyone,

I am beginning my engine and transmission search for my subaru conversion. My overall goal is to run 300hp in the 914.

I would like to use the EMS stinger ecu from outfront motorsports with their wiring harness.

Just looking for opinions on the motor and transmission combo in the link. Overpriced? Not the best engine to use, etc? Any thoughts would be great.

Subaru Engine

Thanks everyone.
Mike Bellis
Be prepared when buying a JDM engine, many of the parts are unique to Japan. I'm no Subi expert but I did have a JDM Cosmo Rotary engine. I could only buy some parts directly from Japan. Like gasket kits. Some I was able to fabricate since I couldn't get the parts. I know Subaru has some similarities on their JDM engines. They make some of these changes simply because the steering wheel and brake booster are on the other side.
matthepcat
Are you apposed to modifying the engine, or do you want stock ~300hp?

300 is easy on almost any EJ turbo engine with a few mods. Mike is correct that JDM motors are easier to find on eBay and they do have a few induction differences and compression ratio differences. Some JDM transmissions have a closer ratio gear box than USDM as well.
turnaround89
I have no problem modifying the motor. I did some research and found this motor seems to be stock about 270hp. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Would the best source for a US Subaru motor be buying a complete car? Pulling the front clip? It seems like the JDM engines are a dime a dozen at fairly decent prices.
matthepcat

That's right. 300 whp is obtainable with exhaust, injectors, turbo and tune.

If you want USDM, no need for the whole front clip. Since your running an aftermarket stand alone ECU, just find a motor and trans package out of a totaled car.