Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My 73 1.7
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Lowsquire
Hi y'all , having just got my car running and driving I thought I'd put some pics up and tell a little about the car.
I got this thing three or four months back, a 'project' with no real information on the state of the engine or trans or any mechanicals, but two things attracted me, it was originally signal orange, my favorite colour, and had five stud Fuchs on it already .. So I took a risk and bought sight unseen , dumb move, but I lucked out I guess . ALL the components off the top of the motor were in the trunk in ziplock bags, most looking clean and ( maybe ? ) rebuilt? So I studied lots of pics on here and put it all together.
The chassis is actually really nice. Original paint on the longs and no rust in there, it did have rust in the hellhole which I cut out and repaired along with a newbattery tray and stand. Painted the engine bay whilst the motor was out.
Here's some of the other stuff it now has..
Front spindles raised 16mm
Factory front swaybar fitted
Vented 911 rotors and calipers ( SC I think?)
Raised steering rack, turbo tierods
15x7 repro Fuchs with 205/50s
New carpets, door panels, targa and door seals
New 19mm master and rebuilt calipers, new soft hoses.
No heat exchangers were on it , so I pulled most of the rest of the ventilation system.
Momo prototipo wheel
I'm going to redo the seats in tartan soon.
Bilstein rear struts and unknown lb aftermarket springs ( powder coated orange ,anyone know what company sells orange springs? )
The 1.7 is original to the car and runs beautifully !
as for the body and paint.. Well it's been repainted once, in a darker orange-red ( maybe tangerine?) but has serious chalking and fading , and judging by the cracked interior vinyl and dry seals I think it came from