Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Deep grooves in cylinder
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
74ravenna
What are my options when a cylinder(s) looks like this?
Complete newbie to engines here so I have to ask, what caused this?

The engine seemed to run fine but those grooves can't be good!

TIA
Steve

Click to view attachment
SirAndy
Probably not of much help to you here but back in my dirtbike racing days, we simply added oil to the fuel for a couple of tanks which quickly filled the grooves with carbon buildup and made them seal again.
Then take the cylinder head off and take some sandpaper to clean up the top of the piston and you're done!

Not sure how well that would work on a 914 engine but it saved me a lot of money during those days ...
biggrin.gif
Valy
Those engines can take a lot of abuse, so it will run fine but burn some oil and lose some power due to compression.
That's probably due to broken rings.
You need a new cylinder and new rings.
Given the effort and price, I highly recommend switching to 96mm cylinders and pistons.
Valy
One more thing: check that you're oil filter works and is not bypassed.
injunmort
it will run that way, but how long or how well, is another guess. looking at them, a hone does not look it will be much help. next step is an overbore and new oversize pistons and rings or replace with a big bore kit.
Mark Henry
If you're on a low budget and your pistons are good new AA 94mm cylinders are $130, rings are $40 to $70.
http://vwparts.aircooled.net/AA-94mm-Cylin...p/vw9400t4l.htm

If you can afford it go to the 96mm KB pistons and cylinders, with rings about $430.
You have to put together your own "kit" on the EMW site.
http://www.europeanmotorworks.com/vw/type-...-cylinders.html

BTW there is two different pistons for 1.7/1.8 with the 66mm stroke and the 2.0 71mm stroke, make sure you get the correct ones.
toolguy