Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: BUILD-OFF CHALLENGE: Tygaboy's '75 LS3
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93
Krieger
I am relieved too! biggrin.gif
tygaboy
QUOTE(Krieger @ May 13 2019, 07:51 PM) *

I am relieved too! biggrin.gif

Well, then I suppose it's good I called them reliefs and not depressions! poke.gif laugh.gif
tygaboy
Today I got the rivnuts installed so the removable cover can officially be removed!

Then I started playing with fasteners:
- Countersunk washer with a flathead?
- Countersunk washer with button head?
- Just a button head?

(Geez, talk about a first world problem...)
Andyrew
Countersunk washer with a flathead is my favorite smile.gif
tygaboy
With the upper fire wall pretty much set to go, I moved to the lower section.
I wasn't in love with the center panel I'd made earlier so...
Here's the latest version in comparison.
I enlarged the shifter cable pass through assembly and redesigned some of the main panel. It's a much better fit.
And there's the obvious matchy-match stamping/stiffening design.

As with most of the upper firewall, this won't be able to be seen unless the seats are out of the car. But I really enjoy the details and the design, cutting, fitting and welding are all great practice for things that will be more visible.
tygaboy
Mocked in place.
Note that I've also started a new version of the console so you're seeing the rear part of the lower section, which is all I have done so far.
tygaboy
And here are details on the updated shifter cable pass-through:
- rivnuts instead of nut welded on the back