Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: looking for DIY mentor
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
frankieshooz
Ok...I don't know if this is a cool thing to ask (don't want to step on any shop owners toes) Rather than just taking my car to a shop, I'm looking for a competent, knowledgable, mechanic/technician/engineer who would be willing to help me work on my car in my garage for various projects. Perhaps someone who is a currently employed Porsche technician who may be willing to moonlight on the side for an agreed upon hourly rate...help me actually finish a project for once! (I'm really good at taking things apart!!! not too good at putting them back together). I want it to be fun, casual and educational...I would feel better having someone who really knows their shit about these cars and offer their guidance as I am a complete newbie concerning the 914...
I'm in North Bay area...LMK if you are interested in this or know of anyone.
injunmort
your on the wrong coast or i would volunteer
euro911
I'm in So Cal, but there are a lot of members up in your neck of the woods. I'm sure they'll be chiming in shortly ...
frankieshooz
ok... thanks for not flaming me.... ok nor cal guys.... lmk...
tygaboy
I'm in Petaluma but have a day job and other stuff that keeps me too busy to come work with you...

But, I'd be happy to help in any way I can. If you don't find exactly what you're looking for:

I just took delivery of a '74 1.8 that needs some service work (brakes, clutch, etc.). If a "watch/help/learn" (no charge! biggrin.gif ) on my car would work as a way to get you up to speed to do things on your own, let me know.

At the very least, meeting other local teeners is always a good thing!

Chris
7TPorsh
I was a newbie to the 914 when I bought it in 2006. Friends thought I was nuts. 914world was and is my mentor. If I need advice, I come here. If I need parts, I come here.