Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: About to pull the trigger on buying a welder...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914_1.8t
http://www.hobartwelders.com/products/handler140.html

These are going for 440 ish shipped on ebay. Almost ready to pull the trigger on the purchase.

Can you more experienced folks let me know what they think about this welder? Anyone used it? Can I get something comperable/better for the cheaper/or around the same price(dont want spend more than 450)?
jasons
I am no expert but when I was shopping I almost bought that one. IIRC Hobart welders are made by Miller and have the gun which I guess is really good. The spooling might be different, I am not sure. I ended up with a Lincoln 135 cause I could get it from the Depot with a discount and no interest for a year on my HD credit card. If I was paying cash, I probably would have bought that Hobart unit. If money was no object, I would have bought the Miller. All of that said, I don't make a living with my welder so I am sure my Lincoln is more than sufficient for my needs.
flyloki
Nice welder, I've used one.

The only thing I really like more about the Miller 135 is the infinately variable voltage, only problem is I'll cost you another 100-200 bucks.

I'm pretty sure I will get a Henrob gas unit here soon as I know about 4 people with Migs I can use anytime.
Mueller
the welder you used a few months ago was purchased here:
Salesco

I "think" it's the Miller 125 model

If you have 220v, I'd recommend that voltage instead
airsix
That's the newest version of the welder I have. It's also (the latest version of) the welder Lawrence has and used to restore Pam's bumble-bee. Ask Lawrence to post before, durring, and after pics if you haven't seen them. He basically built a 914 chassis with that welder. I absolutely love mine. Throw away the flux-core wire it comes with and get a bottle, solid wire, and the correct tips for the wire you get. You'll be in heaven.