Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: COOLING SYSTEM EFFECTIVENESS 2.0 LTR TYPE IV
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
OLAF
Hello All,
I'm a newbe to the 914 World and am very impressed with the knowledge and support provided by everyone, members and vendors alike. I am restoring a rust free 71 914 I obtained out of Florida where it spent its life, 30 years of which, stored in a barn. The 2.0 Lt type IV had been "refreshed" by an engine builder while in Destin and he removed the cooling system components (flaps and thermostat etc) explaining that he didn't expect the car to need a warm up system in their year round warm climates.

I should add that the PO didn't make the car road worthy so I've no experience for or against the effectiveness of the cooling system. I've not yet fired up the engine myself as wiring efforts are still in process.

The car is now here in the Cleveland area and will only be used on warm summer days.

Without the cooling flaps system, I would expect the warm up period to be a little longer but I'm mostly concerned about over heating during the summer months.
Without the system in place, will I risk overheating with normal use?

Thanks in advance
ConeDodger
welcome.png

While not necessary, removing it was just laziness IMO. The flaps should at least be there and closed.

When car manufacturers had department meetings, the engineers would say 'we need this' and the accountants would say 'it costs too much.' So, believe me when I say, if the engineers managed to out argue the accountants - it belongs there. Putting it on meant raising the cost or reducing the profit or both.
brant
You have to have the flaps
Anyone removing them is making a bad choice
It discredits the competency of the person who built your motor

1.7 engines were original to your year car
rhodyguy
huh.gif
McMark