Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Using a Lift for the first time
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bandjoey
Wonders of all. There's a DIY auto shop opened up about 45 minutes away with a 2 post lift for rental. Not only a fun drive but a place to wrench on the 914.

Where do you place the lift pads? Donuts? Longs? or ?? What about the CG on the lift. Is there a perfect balance point for normal work vs engine removal?

And, if I drove 45 minutes to use the shop, how long of a cool down is normal before adjusting the valves?

smash.gif smash.gif

mepstein
I place mine on the donuts to work on the car. Anytime the guys put a car on a lift at our shop, they raise it up 6 inches, then push up and down on each end of the car. You have to be careful for engine removal since it can change the cg on a car quickly.
theleschyouknow
Hey Bill, I've never used a lift before either so I'm curious too
whereabouts is the shop? i'm interested in that as well
sending you a pm

beerchug.gif
cjl
Mark Henry
Put it on the donuts using hockey pucks, never even as much as a scratch on the donut or jackpoints of other cars.
Yes, I said hockey pucks.
Of course if the car is crunchy then all bets are off...

Only a Canadian would think of using hockey pucks. biggrin.gif
BeatNavy
QUOTE(bandjoey @ Jan 8 2017, 04:45 PM) *

And, if I drove 45 minutes to use the shop, how long of a cool down is normal before adjusting the valves?

I thought I've always read it should be stone cold or "overnight" cold before adjusting valves. Kind of tough in a DIY shop 45 minutes away, unless someone has better info for you confused24.gif
jmill
QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Jan 8 2017, 04:39 PM) *

Only a Canadian would think of using hockey pucks. biggrin.gif

I use them as bump stops for my lifted Jeep. But I'm up dare hey dare, in WI.
Krieger