Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HELP: Fluid dynamics, anyone?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tygaboy
Help please: What, if any, are the impacts of varying tube ID between the engine, water pump and radiator?

I want to run hard lines from the engine compartment to the front trunk. They will be protected and the plan should eliminate any concern about cabin heat. Here's what I'm looking to better understand:

As I understand it, I can expect sufficient flow from -16 AN fittings and hose. This has an ID of .089.
A 1" .049 wall 5052 AL tube has an ID of .902.
The radiator has inlet/outlet fittings that take a 1.25 ID hose.

Assuming I hook all this up, are there any odd or problematic things that happen when the 1" line dumps to a 1.25 radiator opening then upon exit, flows from 1.25" back into a 1" line?

Apologies if this is rudimentary. I'm new to H2O cooling...

confused24.gif

Thanks,

Chris
914GT
I've seen little difference between 3/4" and 1" I.D. tubing fitted with hoses compatible to the outside diameter of the tubing. I've also not experienced any issues with the radiator outlet reduced to a smaller size line. This is with a 355 SBC with electric water pump, A/C and summer city driving in Tucson. The biggest effect I've seen has involved changing how the air moves through the radiator, such as using an air dam under the car to increase pressure ahead of the radiator and help reduce hot air recirculation out of the wheelwells.
Chris914n6
Smaller diameter hard lines shouldn't be a problem, I think the 996/986 do the same thing. The actual ID of the engine outlets is close to 1" anyways.

Some of the other things has me concerned. Can you elaborate on your design?
tygaboy
QUOTE(Chris914n6 @ Jan 16 2017, 03:55 PM) *

Smaller diameter hard lines shouldn't be a problem, I think the 996/986 do the same thing. The actual ID of the engine outlets is close to 1" anyways.