Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Resealing transmission questions...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Rusty
Hey guys!

I'm ready to start tearing into the transmission tomorrow. It's weeping from a number of places. I've done the input and output seals before, so that's no big deal.

My questions:

1. I've got a small leak at the shifter. Are there any things to watch out for when I start taking this apart? Any BTDTs?

2. Is it worth trying to replace the end cover gasket, or am I asking for trouble taking it apart? I don't think it's leaking, but as long as I'm in there... unsure.gif

thanks!

-Rusty smoke.gif
Brad Roberts
Tailshift or sideshift ?

B
Allan
As a fairly newbie I can only tell you from experience. That is limited to the seals you can replace without breaking open the cases. All of them are fairly easy as I'm sure you know. The shifter seal was actually one of the easier ones. Not much of a problem. Just make sure it is in neutral when you do it. I wish I could be of more help.
Rusty
Duh! biggrin.gif

It's a sideshifter.
Brad Roberts
Drain the gear lube.

Pull the two M8 nuts down. Make sure it is neutral. Small taps with a soft face hammer will get it broken free (we call it the shift console) Once you have it broke free of it's seal it will act like it is caught on something (it is). YOu have to hold your mouth just right to manuever it down and out of the hole.