Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oil Capacity on a Stock 2.0L
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RangerRhett
Hey guys...

I have only had my teener for about 4 weeks and I am just now getting to do a complete PM overhaul...

I am planning on doing the following:

Oil Change
Gear Lube Flush
Brake Fluid Flush
Air Filter (if needed)
Fuel Filter (if needed)
Rotors and pads (if needed)
Valve Gaps
Timing

I have a few questions, if you all will permit me...

RE: Oil Capacity
Got started today and got the oil out with no problem. I also pulled the strainer to drain whatever else I could. Why is it, that when I put the plug back into the pan, and add 2 quarts of oil, the oil on the dipstick is almost 1/2" over the top mark?

RE: Timing
Okay, I am a young feller, and I have little to no experience on adjusting timing. I am completely confident in my abilites as a shadetree mechanic, but I need a, "Setting Timing for Dummies;" or "Distributers for Dummies;" if you know what I am saying. I have a Chilton's, a Haynes, and a Shop Manual for the 914. Unfortunately, they assume that their reader has some base knowledge of the process, of which I do not (verbiage and all).

I have a timing light (craftsman), feeler gauges and the whole bit. I know the following (correct me if I am wrong)...
Put car in 5th, grab one of the rear wheels (while the other is on a ramp) and turn it until you see the Top Dead Center mark on the blower (fan)...hook up your timing light to the battery and cylinder one on the distributer cap...(I think)...
After that I am lost...

I hope I haven't wasted members' time and space with this request. Your advice is respectfully asked and, if given, will be duly appreciated. My sincere thanks to all who respond.

RR
Joe Bob
Should be 3-3.5 quarts...did ya pull the filter?

On the trans....fill it till it pukes....use Swepco.

Timing and valves....do a search. Captain Krusty just did a nice write up on valve adjustment.