Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New 914 Hauler
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
EdwardBlume
Am stoked! The wife and I just picked up our AX 914 hauler just south of Redding. It's a 16 ft open trailer with 5ft ramps and 4 in drop axels. Got a great deal.
EdwardBlume
I am a newbie with a trailer.... where is the best place for the 914 to sit???? Any other tips would be greatly appreciated!!! cool.gif
nomore4
QUOTE(cavwpguy @ Jun 29 2003, 10:34 PM)
I am a newbie with a trailer.... where is the best place for the 914 to sit????

On the ground running. lol3.gif Just kidding. I have a trailer @ the same size. I park mine on the front wheel chocks to get some weight on the trailer tounge.
rhodyguy
ot. clean your gutters, down spouts, and roof, man. the cost of roof/ framing damage will make your 914 costs seem like penney candy.

kevin
VegasRacer
QUOTE(cavwpguy @ Jun 29 2003, 10:34 PM)
I am a newbie with a trailer.... where is the best place for the 914 to sit?

Where you have it now looks about right to have the weight centered over the axles. Make a test drive. Move it forward a foot and then back a foot. You should be able to feel the difference. Does the trailer try to push? Does it bounce or wiggle? Find what feels best and mark the spot.
brant
There is a method to weigh Tongue Weight...
(look on pelican or rennlist for old threads)

I played with mine and when it was good, I drilled holes and dropped in permanent wheel chocks.

brant
L8Apex
NIce trailer! I got a cheap one. $600, good deal for a college kid.
Aaron Cox
LOVE the paint job, Charcoal? w/ black side stripes/script...looks Boss man smilie_pokal.gif
tryan
to be safe tounge weight needs to be 10-15 % of total load. assuming a 2300# car and a 800# trailer, you need a minimum of 310# of weight on the ball.

if you have mechanical brakes on the trailer the tounge/trailer needs to be as close to level as possible.

looks nice. wish i had one.
TimT