Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Stumped
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
srreality
1973 914-4 - - - - My wipers, horn, cigarette lighter and hot air fan won't work. I'm getting no current at fuse #8. I've replaced the wiper switch, checked the ground, cleaned all the connections at the bottom of the steering column and replaced the horn relay, still nada. I'm an amateur at this, especially electrical current flow. My turn signals work, which to me means I'm getting current to/through that switch. But no current out of the wiper switch with the key on and wiper switch on. What am I missing?
r_towle
Your wipers don't work?
Does everything else work?
If power goes into the switch and does not come out you need a new switch.
If it goes come out of the switch, test the motor next
r_towle
I re read this OP.
Get a meter to test for power at the top of the fuse at the fuse box first.
Then test the bottom.

Make sure you have power on the circuit coming from the fuse box first.
srreality
QUOTE(r_towle @ Mar 19 2017, 02:41 PM) *

I re read this OP.
Get a meter to test for power at the top of the fuse at the fuse box first.
Then test the bottom.

Make sure you have power on the circuit coming from the fuse box first.

I did that - - no power either side of Fuse #8.
srreality
After studying the wiring diagram again and reading an old post on here from an owner who had same problem, I'm becoming convinced it's the horn relay. I replaced it with a new one, but since it was cheap and made in China, perhaps it was bad out of the box? How often does that happen?
r_towle
There is power at the top of the fuse at the fuse panel.
Pull the panel down and see if one of the feed wires has fallen off.
Valy
Check why you have no power at the fuse. Everything else is downstream from there and won't work without power.
If just #8 has no power then there's probably a bad connetion in the fuse box or the terminals are corroded and need some cleaning.