Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: steps to take when refurbashing you aluminum wheels?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
funk
I have had another member say media blasting is not something to do to your wheels when redoing them.
I beg to differ. if you really want to get out all the imperfections from driving on a set for 40 years media blasting is the first step. Then polish and add no clear coat over your polish. None. clear coat peels and yellows. thanks add your differing ways? what's best in your opinion? My way is to just simply polish with fine sand paper first then polosh with a paste and a polishing wheel. you can brush the aluminum behind the fuch with a wire wheel(brushed aluminum)or leave them media blasted or paint your color of choice.
arne
I've got a bit over 20 years experience in tires and wheels (first career, late '70s to late 90s), and I tend to agree with the other member. Media blast should be the last resort, not the default or first step, especially on forged and anodized wheels. To ensure I do the least harm, my first step is always chemical - for our anodized Fuchs that means a lye bath to soften and strip the anodizing. Then hand prep from there.

Media blast may have its place, badly scuffed and scratched wheels, for example. But it should still not be used as a shortcut to skip the non-destructive steps. If there are still surface flaws after chemical stripping, any further steps (either hand sanding or media blast) can be done much less aggressively since the hardened surface has already been removed.
mepstein
QUOTE(arne @ Apr 7 2017, 02:19 PM) *