Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Transmission Options???
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rotary914
Hello - I'm new to this particular forum.

I want to have an "Outstanding" shifting 914.
Currently I have a tail shifter 901.
I plan to do an engine conversion (in about a year) and expect approx 275HP.

This will be a daily driver with occational track use.
I also want a Quaife differential.

I looked into other transmissions. I've heard negative things about the 915's shifting.
The G50 is a little too expensive.

The solution I came up with was a Side shift 901, HD Intermediate plate, tranny oil cooler, magnafluxed gears and internals.
I would just be gentle with 1st gear and launch in second.

What options do I have for shift linkage?
Patrick Motorsports makes one that actually looks real nice.
I thought Wevo made one, but I only saw 915 tranny stuff on their site.

Are there other options??

I'm ready to do something now, just trying to make the right choice

Steve C
72 914
82 RX-7
lapuwali
For a side-shift'd 914 gearbox, just use the stock linkage. You may want to buy a Rennshift. This is probably the best bang-for-the-buck option. You'll probably find first gear to be completely useless, as it's so short, so you might just remove all of the first gear parts and have a four-speed.

The 915 shifts no worse than a 914 gearbox. The linkage options there are varied, and most are quite expensive. WEVO has probably the nicest 915 setup available.

The 930 four-speed is used in some high-torque setups. Renegade can offer you some help there. The only 930 I've seen installed in a 914 used a cable shifter and had a tube cradle made up to support the gearbox.