Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to 914 world
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
anthwp
914 group, I am new to the 914 world but not to Porsche’s with well over 14 different 911 and 944’s over the years. I have just purchased a 73, 914 1.7 which has been sitting in a warehouse since 1995 when it had a fuel pump failure. It sat their until last week when I brought it home.

The car has 85K miles was purchased in Denver and never left the state. It is in pretty good shape for sitting that long.

My goal is to bring it back to life and present it to my daughter when she graduates collage Spring 2018.

This is a list of things I am thinking about and would like to start to get some options on what should be should not be done. First I am not planning to restore this to concourse level, but create a great running and looking 914 that she can take to Porsche track events and car and coffee outing she’s been attending with me over the years.

First: to rework the fuel system what’s the best direction, replace with a electric fuel pump – if so what’s the best set-up and system to deploy? Or go back to the old system and find a rebuilt pump.

Next Address the engine needs, I was able to bump start it and it turned over quickly and without any real issues. Is upgrading to the MSD ignition system with all of the supporting items that way to go or just remain stock? The car still has it fuel injection which I was going to keep due to living in Vail Co at 8500ft and down to Denver ay 5K ft. Figuring it was help with the elevation changes.

Then Brakes and suspension, what the right direction for performance and drive ability and what upgrades are beneficial?

I look forward to learning my way around this site and exchanging ideas with the team here. The more I am around this car the more I am really starting to get existed about this project.
tygaboy
Let me be the first to say welcome.png
and the requisite:

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif