Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 5 lug conversion question.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
turbonet
Bought a five lug conversion recently but the rear calipers don't have an e-brake on them. Can anyone shed some light on what I have exactly.

Click to view attachment
mgphoto
911 front calipers
turbonet
That's what I thought. I can use the original 914 rear calipers instead right?
Porschef
No, You'll need a pair of -6 rear calipers. Ouch.$$$

Something else might work, I'm not an expert by any stretch. -4 rotors are only what, 9mm wide? Your 5 lug rotors are probably in the 15mm range.

A buddy around the corner has a -6 conversion, I break his balls all the time about how much he spent on it but doesn't have an E-brake... rolleyes.gif
turbonet
That sucks
falcor75
I used 914-6 rear discs with the stock -4 rear calipers. No issues.
914Sixer
There are a couple of options. Run early 911 rear calipers with no spacer. Use the e-brake setup from those with a modification kit from Tangerine Racing. Second use the 914-6 rotor with the stock 914-4 rear. -6 rotor may or may not have to be turned on the outer diameter to fit the -4 caliper.
mepstein
SixerJ and Falcor are correct. You can use a 6 rotor (should be $50-60 each) with your stock rear 914-4 calipers. You often have to shave 2-3mm from the rotor diameter but this can be done easily and cheap. Put new rubber flex lines on the back - while you are in there $25. The holes on the rotor fixing screws might not line up if you are using converted 914-4 hubs, no big deal, just leave the screws off. The rotors will be held secure by the lug nuts when you bolt on the wheel. (They wont fall off when you take off the wheel since the caliper holds them on both sides).

Like the others said, if you are not using a stock 4 caliper, you can use a 911 ebrake but this will take some mods, 911 ebrake parts, a conversion kit from tangerine racing and I. believe you will need a 911 hub as well.