Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Voltage drop on relay circuit?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
IronHillRestorations
I'm making a harness that needs a power circuit switched via relay.

I've got generic Bosch style 5 pin relays, and I'm seeing a voltage drop on the power out side of the relay.

It's rare that I make a harness that needs a relay, and in the few that I've done with a relay circuit, this has never been reported as a problem.

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I always thought a relay was just an electro-mechanical switch and I should be getting the same voltage on the output.

Just to be clear for those who do know more about this than me, none of the wires that I'm using to test this are more than 24" long and none are less than 14 gauge wire.

The relay power is for a coil pack, so I'm sure that needs a good 12+ volts.
914Sixer
Are all the relays showing the same test?
IronHillRestorations
Yes, Mark they do. I currently have only cheap ones, no real Bosch or Hella. I've subsequently read about release voltage of a relay, but I don't know why the ones I got would do that as none of the similar Bosch type relays say a thing about "release voltage"
Bartlett 914
If you can, measure at the relay input and output. There should be zero volts. If measuring from the ground, then both input and output should read the same voltage (12 volts). If there is a difference, then the relay is bad, There should be no drop at the relay contact. It the circuit has a large load, then there can be a voltage drop across the length of the wire. Shorter wires or larger gauge in the answer
danschy
Pretty hard to get a significant voltage drop across relay contacts. Are you sure your relay has mechanical contacts and it is not some kind of solid-state relay? Do you hear a metallic click when activated?
jd74914