Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Stags14's Progress Thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
stags14
This is my first 914. I knew it was going to be a pretty large and difficult project and that is the main reason I bought one in rough condition. My father is helping with the restoration. I am looking forward more to working on the car side-by-side with the old man than I am driving it when it is all done. My Dad is a very mechanical guy and I regret never having learned from him when I was younger (I am 32 now). I was always too busy playing sports and hanging with my friends to be wasting my time in a garage or learning to hang dry wall. I was a dumb kid in some respects and missed out on a lot. But you know what they say... better late than never!

I am a complete novice when it comes to working on cars. Total novice! I know I will be asking some very dumb questions, so please go easy on me!

We were finally able to start rockin & rollin. Started to tear apart the ineterior. Floor pans, firewall, cross member all have some serious rust. They will all need to be replaced. The hell hole does not appear to be that bad. We will know more after the engine is dropped next week and we can really get in there and poke around. It appears as though the seal on the rear window was shot and water was leaking in and caused all the damage to the firewall, cross member, and floor pans.

The passenger side long does not look to be that bad at all. The jack post is rusted out pretty bad, but the long itself at first inspection appears to be relatively solid.

Questions:

1) Should we buy or fabricate new floor pans? If we do buy, can anyone recommend a place to buy?

2) Should we buy or fabricate new cross memebers? If we do buy, can anyone recommend a place to buy?

3) Should we buy or fabricate a new lower fire wall? If we do buy, can anyone recommend a place to buy?