Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is My Mechanic Wrong or Am I Crazy - Love My Old Muffler
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
TM_Corey
Both my mechanic and Brad at 914 Ltd say my vintage Thunderbird muffler is choking back my horsepower and my mechanic says it's way too loud. But mannnnn I love the sound.

Who is right? Keep it because I like it a little loud or put on a Bursch for better performance?

https://youtu.be/wmGi5ONn8cY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v= wmGi5ONn8cY
nditiz1
QUOTE(TM_Corey @ Aug 2 2017, 08:42 AM) *

Both my mechanic and Brad at 914 Ltd say my vintage Thunderbird muffler is choking back my horsepower and my mechanic says it's way too loud. But mannnnn I love the sound.

Who is right? Keep it because I like it a little loud or put on a Bursch for better performance?

https://youtu.be/wmGi5ONn8cY

I'm no expert, but that exhaust sounds good to me. I have heard the bursch too, but only at idle.
burton73
Loud mufflers are a cop magnet. I did see mufflers that have sound control. You can switch between loud and softer. I have mufflers from a Ferrari for my V8 conversion that has a vacuum switch to open up the pipes. I did have a 2015 Corvette with switched performance for the tuning. It had 3 positions of loud.

Your car sounds good to me. Purest say the factory set up with a given amount of backpressure is the right way. I do not know. When it is loud people think there car is faster or puts out more power. I do not know. But I hate a guy that has a car that makes too much noise. Motorcycles as well.

Bob B
IronHillRestorations
It's your car, so you need to do what makes your happy. I'm a factory muffler kinda guy though, and there's very little data to support claims of improved power with other street mufflers/extractors
amfab
My background is in audio engineering, we always say, if it sounds good do it!
JmuRiz
If you like the sound, just keep it. What would you gain in HP anyway, a couple?
anderssj