Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT Welding advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
slivel
I want to get a MIG welder and have not welded for a very long time. Did some gas and arc welding in school but nothing since. The local community colleges have welding courses but they are 16 weeks long and result in a certification - something that I don't need. Does anyone have a recommendation on a short course or some books that I can learn (as in self-taught)? Or is this something I really should get professional instruction? My goal is 914 upkeep and minor fabrication involving sheet metal - no heavy duty stuff.
mihai914
I think the best thing to do is try to hook up with someone on the board who is willing to get you started, that's all it takes! I was lucky in that way. It only takes a couple of minutes if the teacher is good and then it's a matter of practice. As a bonus after you can enjoy beer! beerchug.gif

As for books Welder's Handbook that can be found at Home Depot always comes up as a recommended lecture. I found it well written but it remains a very general book, so it won't tell you how to set up a machine and mostly it can't tell you how a good weld sounds, how to feel if voltage is too low or too high, or wire speed.

Mihai
tat2dphreak
check into a local "continuing ed" class at a high school... I just took one of these, and am pleased with the result, since I mainly wanted a refresher, and to practice with mig welding... mine was like 6 weeks long... no cert. just a quickie course...

you could just read a couple books(available at Lincoln's website, cheap), and follow that with some practice on something similar to what you will be working on...

there have been several threads lately as to which welder you should get... I think a 135 MIG(with gas, no flux core) made by miller/hobart or lincoln is what everyone seems to think is best...
TravisNeff