Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Carb Timing Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
yarin
I'm trying to work on the timing on my car. I bought a Sears Induction Advance timing light and i'm going based on Pelican's tech articles. Basically the car backfires like crazy over 3k rpm at any decent load. I hooked up the light, i think i see the major 34deg mark on the fan.. is this the wide fan blade? Do I set the timing light to 27 degrees at 3k rpm and line up the large fan blade with the mark on the housing?

Anyhow, i changed the timing around a bit and it still backfires like crazy out the exhaust. It also huffs on the intake side here and there.

I don't have any electronics to set the dwell.

This problem came up after two autocrosses. Any ideas? Fresh plugs, cap, rotor and wires already done.

This is my first time really getting into carbs so pardon my ignorance but I can't seem to find the "vacuum advance line"? Where would it come from and where should it connect to? Thanks!
nebreitling
first off: if you have points, you need to set dwell before you time it. period. get a dwell meter, or better off -- install a pertonix/crane unit.

secondly: 34 degrees is a lot of advance. try 28 for now.

thirdly: *most* carb setups have no vaccuum advance setup. some do, though. shoot a pic of your engine bay, carbs, and dizzy and we'll let you know.

good luck!
tommy914
QUOTE (yarin @ May 18 2005, 06:09 PM)
...Basically the car backfires like crazy over 3k rpm at any decent load.......This problem came up after two autocrosses. Any ideas? ....

If there was no backfiring before the autox's, then I would suspect that during the autox, some dirt that was in the carb ended up clogging a jet, probably a main jet.

I would pull the jets to make sure they are clean.

lapuwali