Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Upgrading to a 1.9L with D-Jet
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
euro911
We're building up a 1.9L and keeping the stock 1.7L D-jet system. We're utilizing a 1.8L cam. Looking for info from others who've done this upgrade with success.

What about injectors? ... are the 1.7L injectors adequate, or will they run too lean? If they won't provide enough fuel, which injectors have you guys used with good results? ... 1.8L, 2.0L ?

I understand the MPS will probably need to be re-calibrated. How did you go about doing this? ... sent it out somewhere or just fiddled with it until the A/F readings were good ?

Any other recommendations, tips, etc. you can provide ?

TIA ...
BeatNavy
Hey Mark, free bump and my thoughts. Others may have better info.

I have no personal experience with this setup, but others seem to have had no problem using stock 1.7 D-Jet parts for the 1911. Not sure if or how the 1.8 cam could change that. If you have a hard time sourcing injectors, I think the 2.0 are easier to come by, but it seems the 1.7 would work.

I would definitely invest in a wideband sensor to make sure you're not running too lean. You can either bump up the fuel pressure slightly if needed, or, probably better, tune the MPS closer to 2.0 specs. Do you have a working MPS? If not, pick up a core and get Chris' repair and tuning kit. Either way you're going to have to carefully chip out the plug to get access to the inner and outer screws on the diaphragm. If you don't have an inductance meter (and have no desire to acquire one), have someone here help (I would be glad do it gratis, although there are others here that are most likely better).

That just gets you close. Then use a dyno or at least street tuning with your wideband to dial it in closer to optimum.

Here's some good reading for a rainy day. Gives you MPS theory and tuning instructions: https://members.rennlist.com/pbanders/manif...sure_sensor.htm

Good luck.