Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: ebay car
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
sjhowitson
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...4552177380&rd=1

My brother is looking at bidding on this car. Something is not right anybody see anything that jumps out at them?
i love porsche
its really cheap, and has tits
sjhowitson
They are saying it is original....
Mueller
QUOTE (sjhowitson @ May 24 2005, 01:31 PM)
They are saying it is original....

no, they are not claiming the "car" is original, only certain features of the vehicle...no big deal on the front bumper, easily replaced with a tit-less version

looks very nice....I like the MFI motor wub.gif
Ferg
I'm no expert but rear bumper is wrong too? no? That would have me looking very closely for accident repair. Text states excellent repaint... I see they painted over the wiring loom laid on the engine shelf in front of the fan... Hardly excellent IMO.

Ferg.
ewdysar
Of course it's just nit picking, but someone cut into the door panels for speakers...

I don't like not seeing the bidder identified, seems too easy to enforce a reserve. The current bid seems high for this early in the auction, but that's just my opinion.

Eric
ewdysar
agree.gif some wiring is painted, some is not idea.gif They didn't include pics of any of the "problem areas", most high dollar listings seem to include some pics of those now.
ken914
Be careful. They don't show enough photos of the potential rust problems. I have seen plenty of cars that look fantastic in the photos and then on personal inspection are full of rust, wreck damage, bad repairs, etc.

I don't like ebay for buying cars. You can't really know what you are getting. I would suggest buying from an individual and taking your time to find the right car. I spent 4 years looking for my /6 and then 4 months negotiating the deal. It was well worth it. In the end I paid a lot less than what it would cost me to repair or get out of a bad car.

Good luck!
Gustl