Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 race engine builder in PNW
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
jhynesrockmtn
Hi, I'm new to the forum. I have a 914-4 vintage race car that a friend built up before he sadly passed in 2014. I have been running FV's in vintage racing since 2008. I expect this 914 will take a few years to work the bugs out of, etc. I do know the motor he built is not a race motor. It is a 1.7 with webers and the proper cam but otherwise pretty stock. I am looking to get a proper race motor built for the car. Are there any engine builders in the Seattle/Portland/Spokane area that I should touch base with?Click to view attachment
Mr. Olympic Blue 2 You
welcome.png

Are you planning on running Sovren?
There was probably a reason he kept it mostly stock if Sovren was where he was running. They chased off most of the big bore 911 guys several yrs back. Rules were very inconsistent etc...if Andy Collins is elected President this year, I think some good things may come but before I spent a bunch of time and $ I'd run it as it is, get used to the car and take advantage of the series while you can. They are on life support like many racing clubs in the PNW. Just my .02

There are about 5 Porsche owners in the Seattle area that are doing hillclimbs (race up paved forest service roads) if that is something you'd consider- we'd love to have you along.

Shoot me a PM if you want more info!
Andrew

QUOTE(jhynesrockmtn @ Nov 10 2017, 07:12 AM) *