Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 6 heat exchangers,
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
goose2
Has anyone built their own heat exchangers for a six conversion? It would be so nice to have a little heat for those cold mornings with the top off...and some defrost for rainy days...but I can't see laying out over a thousand bucks for manufactured exchangers. I have a friend who is a master stainless fabricator but we need a plan and some guidance...what works and what doesn't. I'd like to retain as much access to lower valve covers as possible and I don't need tons of heat. Engine is a 2.4...headers are pictured below. Thanks for any insights offered. welder.gif
Steve
I have been involved in 914's since the 70's and I have never seen anybody make a home made heat exchanger.
Of course I have been wrong from time to time so who knows....
GHL and B&B are the only company's that I know of that make aftermarket 914-6 heat exchangers.
Both company's are in AZ.
You might be able to look at there web sites and try to copy it....
brant
Dan on this site has a prototype set he is working on.
I believe he is starting out with a different set of 911 headers...

this thread comes at a good time, as I'd love to see an update on Dan's set.. and am trying to figure out what to buy to make a set for myself.

Dan??????
are you out there?????

Dr Evil
Dan was just welding a pipe to the outside of the headers. Then he would run air through them. Simple, and practical. I agree, I would like to see more on it.
brant
Hey Mike,

hope you had a good weekend.
I'll write out my bills tonight and get some money in the mail to you!!!!!!! (pay day is tomorrow)

hope the packing is going well!

brant
Dr Evil
Brant,
Your dash was done, but then.........I kinda had an accident that caused a small tear in the new vinyl. It will be done tomarrow. rolleyes.gif

I aint packing yet. I got too many damn parts/projects to deal with dry.gif
brant