Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Caliper help!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
camgraves3113
I just had a question, as i am new to my 1973 porsche 2.0 914. I am 18 and sorry if this is a dumb question but what size calipers can i buy and how do i know of they fit? I dont wamt the stock calipers and i would love to find a brembo or wilwood pair that fits the brackets and improve braking power. Again i am sorry if this is simple and dumb but i cant find/understand what i have read on this specific topic so far. Thank you so much piratenanner.gif
mepstein
Stock front struts really only fit stock 914 calipers. Look for 911 struts with 3 1/2' spacing if you really want/need to go bigger. You will also need 911 hubs which means five lug wheels. If you really want to do the big brake thing front and back, plan on a couple grand $.

Stock brakes are actually really good if you have a stock car. Make sure everything is in good shape and use good pads.

there are a couple other front calipers that fit on 914-4 but offer very little in "upgrade factor"
914Sixer
Go to the Classic Threads and read about brakes. Stock is all you need.
Mueller
I think Volvo 200 series 4 pot calipers have the same spacing, however they are cast steel and heavy and have a funky twin fed system.

For stock /4 calipers no kits that I know of. Rotors are too thin for most "upgraded" alloy calipers due to them being designed for wider rotors.

Break out the tape measure and CAD and design something smile.gif
falcor75
The Alfa Romeo 75 (Milan in the US) with the bigger engines had a Brembo aluminum caliper with a 48 mm piston thats i direct bolt on to the stock strut. I'm not sure what 4-bolt disc would work with it as I went with a 5 lug conversion on a 911 strut but with the 3 inch mounting distance on the caliper.
mgp4591
QUOTE(Mueller @ Jan 9 2018, 09:42 PM) *