Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: total Disassembled 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914 project
Hello

I am a First time newbie posting

I currently have a Cayman that I occasionally track and a 73 MG midget summer driver that I have worked on some.

I recently purchased a completely disassembled 914. Although I have had some experience working on several other old cars I have never worked or drove a 914.

I have repaired all rust issues and painted the body and I think i am ready to start the assembly process. I have no plans to track the 914 but would like it to be a nice handling street driven car on a medium budget. It does not need to be original.
Starting first with suspension:
What suspension parts should be replaced and what brand? Opinions count!

new tie rods?
new ball joints?
new front wheel bearings
front shocks bilstein?
rear spring set what weight?
rear shocks bilstein?
rear wheel bearings

the one CV axle boot is cut
do i need rebuilt cv axles?

Click to view attachment
GeorgeRud
I’d certainly replace the bushings on the suspension as well as the front torsion bars (Sway-a-Way makes good ones). Stay with rubber if you’re going to be street driving the car. Turbo tie rods, Bilsteins, etc. should work well for your project as well. A front sway bar with stiffer rear springs seem to work well for most. And of course, I’d put in new wheel bearings and would consider new rear axles (though those can easily be replaced when needed).

Enjoy your project in good health!
Cairo94507
welcome.png

Nice - That's the way to start a project. Metal work, body work, paint, and then build from there. Post lots of pictures of the work you did before paint and keep us posted on the build. Cheers. beerchug.gif
burton73
Fixed up right, your 914 is going to be like your Cayman but with a lot less power. In less you want that power as well.