Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Won't a front trunk mounted oil cooler result in the front trunk getting filthy with dust and dirt?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tdskip
First off, let me just state that I am a total newbie here so I apologize if I'm asking about something that's been well solved already...

Looking at the front trunk mounted oil coolers I've noticed that some of those actually mount the cooler inside the front trunk with the front valance having an opening to with airflow in.

Won't that approach also let in any dust or dirt, or water, that the front of the car encounters?
worn
QUOTE(Tdskip @ Jan 25 2018, 12:53 PM) *

First off, let me just state that I am a total newbie here so I apologize if I'm asking about something that's been well solved already...

Looking at the front trunk mounted oil coolers I've noticed that some of those actually mount the cooler inside the front trunk with the front valance having an opening to with airflow in.

Won't that approach also let in any dust or dirt, or water, that the front of the car encounters?

I think in some cases it does, and in other cases things are sealed off. Some of us live without a frunk, and put their cold groceries and beer in the back.. Wait. blowtorch.gif That would roast them!
mb911
There is a shroud that funnels the air out the bottom of the car.. No dust as there is a seal for the shroud..
Tdskip
QUOTE(mb911 @ Jan 25 2018, 03:03 PM) *

There is a shroud that funnels the air out the bottom of the car.. No dust as there is a seal for the shroud..

OK, so if I understand this right Ben the air comes in and is directed to the cooler and then directed out the bottom of the front trunk via ducting/shroud that covers all the open area so it only goes through the cooler and then back out?
brant
your going to still get a bit of dust or water
it depends on the integrity of the seal

my street car design leaks like crazy