Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Removal of A/C
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Chip
Looks like the first owner of my '73 1.7 installed an A/C. The unit fits in the front trunk under the spare tire. Hoses run to the cooler, along the right rocker panel, up into the engine compartment to a large (condenser), I don't know. It is connected by the v-belt. I want to remove the A/C. Must I take out this large condeser? It fits under the battery tray and looks like it's important. I am not a mechanic. Thanks to you.
TheCabinetmaker
It was installed at the dealership as an option. Removal of compressor requires removal of engine.
TheCabinetmaker
Btw, welcome Chip. We love car pics.
theer
I did the same on my '72... but it was a long time ago...

If it's belt driven in the engine compartment, it is the compressor. The condenser is in the front truck. The evaporator is in the air handler unit attached to the bottom of the dash inside the car.

Compressor, condenser, air handler, refrigerant lines can all be removed. If you are careful, someone here might even buy the complete setup from you (not me, sorry).

You'll be left with big square holes in the front trunk, which will need to be welded closed, as well as a few small (~1") holes where the a/c lines went through the firewall, etc., to connect all the components of the system.

Since these were dealer installed, it shouldn't be that difficult to un-install.

Good luck.

Edit: didn't realize motor has to come out to remove compressor. You can take the belt off to reduce drag until you are ready to remove.
malcolm2
Not being a mechanic could be a problem. But you should be able to find the connecting bolts and remove the compressor in the engine bay. I would think the engine could stay in. Not positive tho.

Problem is when the dealer put it in, they probably did a HACK job on your cooling tins. So the side tin and IIRC 1/2 the tin under the fan belt would also be hacked up.