Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Steel flares
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
sb914
Steel flares !! So for those of you who have done this, how many hours would a shop typically take ready for paint ?
mb911
QUOTE(sb914 @ Feb 28 2018, 06:26 AM) *

Steel flares !! So for those of you who have done this, how many hours would a shop typically take ready for paint ?

I am going to just say done correctly start to finish ready for paint 6 hours per corner.. The welding and grinding are about half of that. Then metal finish, filler, primer, block out..
tygaboy
I'm about to start on mine. Maybe I should time it!
defianty
QUOTE(mb911 @ Feb 28 2018, 02:30 PM) *

I am going to just say done correctly start to finish ready for paint 6 hours per corner..The welding and grinding are about half of that. Then metal finish, filler, primer, block out..

agree.gif

Mine took about a days work each, but I am a novice.
ChrisFoley
QUOTE(mb911 @ Feb 28 2018, 10:30 AM) *

I am going to just say done correctly start to finish ready for paint 6 hours per corner...

At least 10 hours per corner - butt TIG welded, welds ground flat and hammered smooth, ready for filler/primer/paint. The bottom edges need substantial alteration to fit correctly.
ValcoOscar
I've seen someone do a complete steel set in 4 days...average results. Not to impressed.
Cost $2,500

Sean in San Diego took about two weeks total with PERFECT results. Aside from flares you need to fit GT rockers and valances.

Are you taking the plunge Eddy?

piratenanner.gif

ValcoOscar
QUOTE(Racer Chris @ Feb 28 2018, 06:50 AM) *

QUOTE(mb911 @ Feb 28 2018, 10:30 AM) *

I am going to just say done correctly start to finish ready for paint 6 hours per corner...

At least 10 hours per corner - butt TIG welded, welds ground flat and hammered smooth, ready for filler/primer/paint. The bottom edges need substantial alteration to fit correctly.

agree.gif
McMark
Yup. What they said...

IPB Image
gothspeed